top of page


The Paleontology Division distributes four awards:

The Billings Medal


The Billings Medal recognizes an outstanding long-term contribution to any aspect of Canadian paleontology or by a Canadian to paleontology.

The Pikaia Award

The Pikaia Award recognizes a recent outstanding contribution to research on any aspect of Canadian paleontology, or by a Canadian to paleontology.

The Bolton Award


The Bolton Award acknowledges excellence in paleontological research by a student through their paper presentation at the CPC.

Avocationalist Award


This new award recognizes and celebrates the contributions of non-professional paleontologists to the field.

bottom of page